Ougon Musou Kyoku

Original Title
07th Expansion
Official Website
Ougon Musou Kyoku is a tag-team fighting game based on the Umineko no Naku Koro ni series of sound novels, this PC version is the original release and was followed up by an expansion a year later (Ougon Musou Kyoku CROSS) and an expanded Xbox 360 port (Ougon Musou Kyoku X). The kanji for “dream” in the logo is coloured red – Umineko players will remember that words written in that colour are known as “red truths” – anything written in red is totally factual information. This is significant to Ougon Musou Kyoku as it underlines its status as a “dream match” style game without any place in series’ canon.
There are ten characters to choose from (rising to eleven if the game is patched) and the player must pick two; there are no restrictions on who can be paired with who. Rather than using the familiar best-of-three template each battle plays out over a single round with both characters sharing a single three-part health bar. Between each bout a short dialogue sequence plays out, although as mentioned before these are designed to be more light hearted and have no canonical value.
The default keyboard layout is -
Z = weak attack
X = medium attack
C = strong attack
X+C = throw/throw escape
S = “touch”
Z+X+C = “meta world”
Shift = “appeal”
(they do recommend using a joypad)
“Touch” is Ougon’s tap out system, switching the current character for the reserve. For a short while after the switch the now-reserve character’s passive ability comes into play and enhances the active character; for example Battler’s grants his active teammate a short bout of health regeneration. There is a waiting period after a switch when the active character can’t be changed.
Activating the “meta world” boosts the effect of the player’s passive abilities and enables special meta moves to be performed without cost. Only one person can activate the meta world (and gain its effects) at one time.
“Appeal” is the now standard fighting game taunt button with the additional effect of slightly restoring health.
The game also has several versus modes (against another offline player, against the CPU and against an online opponent) as well as a basic training mode.
The packaging shown in the photos below is the “campaign bonus” pack; this includes a DVD showing some early footage of Ougon Musou Kyoku CROSS and a large full colour art book. The oversized DVD box has enough space to house the original game, bonus DVD and CROSS. The only merchandise for this game to date is a one-off manga.
2013-07-02 12.43.532013-07-02 12.44.402013-07-02 12.45.00
2013-07-02 12.45.072013-07-02 12.45.262013-07-02 12.45.42
GameMain 2013-06-30 19-11-06-34GameMain 2013-06-30 19-14-06-91GameMain 2013-06-30 19-03-55-86GameMain 2013-06-30 19-05-24-37GameMain 2013-06-30 19-08-32-51GameMain 2013-06-30 19-09-00-78