Yu Yu Hakusho Horobishi Mono no Gyakushuu

Original Title
Game Gear
Minato Giken
Official Website
Horobishi Mono no Gyakushuu is the first of two for the Game Gear, both by Minato Giken. This one takes the form of a side-scrolling beat ‘em up spread across five stages.
The first four stages can be tackled in any order and with any of the four available characters. They all have a variety of strengths and weaknesses, meaning some are better suited than others to particular stages – for example, Kuwabara’s poor jumping skills make him a tough choice for the bottomless pits and lava pools in stages C and D, even if his strength is the highest of all.
The final fifth stage an only be unlocked after beating the first four, and changes the flow of the game by becoming a vertical climb up a tower instead of another left-to-right brawl. If playing on easy mode (there are only two choices – easy and hard) the game will cut out before the final boss of this stage with a “Please try hard mode!” style message and no ending.
Hard mode offers other changes too – enemies are more numerous and the bosses hit harder and can take more damage. I should probably mention at this point that the boss sections play quite differently from the rest of the game – the player has to observe the boss’s movements and try to dodge oncoming attacks by leaning left or right whilst getting their own in when there is a pause.