Shui Hu Feng Yun Zhuan

Original Title
Mega Drive
Never Ending
Soft Team
Official Website
Shui Hu Feng Yun Zhuan is an original unlicensed side-scrolling beat 'em up from Chinese developer NE Soft. The game can be played alone or cooperatively with a friend using one one of the three characters available. These three all fall into the standard stereotypes of fast-but-weak, strong-but-slow, and all rounder.
The game uses a three button setup of magic, attack and jump. Rather than requiring potions to power magic as in Golden Axe, spells are collected from the various smashable objects strewn around the stages as one-time-use items. Attacks can be performed while running or jumping, but their are no throws or co-op attacks in the game.
On the default difficulty setting there are five levels to play through – selecting hard mode adds two extra stages as well as a proper final boss and ending.
While the game is largely an original work there are a few corners cut here and there – the "on fire" sprites are directly lifted from Street Fighter 2, and several sound effects appear to have originated in Golden Axe.
The packaging photographs below are from my (sadly) bootleg version of the game and should be considered more a curiosity than a reference tool.